PappaRich in Brisbane

I’m back!  I was talking to a couple of people today about my neglected food blog so I decided to do a post.  Yes, I still take photos of food.  Yes, I have a huge collection of food photos!  It has been a busy year for me with work, bridesmaid’s duties, attending bridal showers, hen’s nights and weddings.  Full-time professional, Part-time/casual event coordinator/planner/attender. Weddings galore!!!  I still have another 2 to attend and 1 to post a gift.  I’m not even kidding!

Anyway, PappaRich is now my new favourite Malaysian restaurant! The first time I had this was in Melbourne.  I don’t think I appreciated as much as I do now since I know what to order.  I went to Malaysia for a friend’s wedding this year and tried many Malaysian dishes including all sorts of Laska and one of my favourite was Asam Laska. Got back to Brisbane and I’ve been missing it since.   PappaRich was only opened like a month ago so I decided to give it a go.

So here are some photos from the restaurant.  Let’s just say, I missed Malaysian food so much that I ate at this place 3 times in just a week. hehe!

IMG_2353

PAPPA ASAM LAKSA

It’s the only place I know of that have Asam Laska. Well according to my Malaysia friend, it’s the only place she knows that has Asam Laska.  It’s actually not a popular Malaysia dish but I like it.  It’s fish based Laska as opposed to your typical curry based Laska. I like it because it’s fresh.  It’s like a Vietnamese salad in soup form.

IMG_2355

DRY CURRY EGG NOODLES WITH STEAMED CHICKEN

LYCHEE GRASS JELLY

It was the second last day before one of my colleagues finish off with us so I took her here for food.  I wanted to order a soup based dish but it was too hot so decided to go with this steam chicken with dry curry egg noodles.  It was so good. I loved it!  Lychee grass jelly was also nice.  Then again, I like anything lychee! 😀

IMG_2363

PAPPA PRAWN MEE

My friend saw my photo of Asam Laska on Facebook so she demanded me to take her here for dinner.  I had Prawn Mee which was very delicious.  She had a Curry Laska and these kaya buns.  I didn’t really like the Kaya buns.  I think it was to salty and buttery.

IMG_2362

CURRY LAKSA

IMG_2365

STEAMED MANTAU WITH KAYA

Check out their menu here, they have better photos: http://www.papparich.net.au/main-menu

If you’re wondering where it is in Brisbane… it’s in Winter Garden on the Goodlife, Grill’d Burgers, Strike Bowling level.

Until next time! Eat up!

nom nom nom

One Comment Add yours

  1. niktaflol says:

    that last plate looks dirty

Leave a Reply

