Bishamon

Bishamon is another Japanese restaurant in Brisbane.

I went with a friend here for dinner probably just after my Japan trip.  I think I was going through some holiday withdrawals and really wanted Japanese food.  However,  I think I would consider Bishamon as a “modern Japanese restaurant” as opposed to like Hosokawa, Sono or Kabuki where they present themselves more traditionally (well, I think anyway).

The menu here is quite big.  I found it very difficult to choose what I wanted at first (Okay, I admit it.  I am indecisive).  The meals was also very big (decent portion); and it was quite affordable as well compared to the other Japanese restaurants mentioned.  To me when it comes to Japanese food, I think it should look clean, simple, and small. The serving here, did not look clean, or simple or small – well the dishes we’ve ordered anyway.  I think they were designed for sharing.  So you kind of need to go with a big group for dinner at this place. My friend and I were both struggling to finish all of the meals.

For entree we ordered one of their chicken karaage or teriyaki (I forgot) and the croquettes (korokke) on special that night.

I didn’t realised that they would serve us salad with the chicken as well.  My first thought when I saw the chicken dish was; “OMG, that’s like an actual lunch meal.  Not really an entree”.

20140401_183819

The croquettes were quite nice from memory.  Though, I think it was just a little bit too much potato.  Croquettes are normally already filled with potato and yet the ones we’ve order were also surrounded by mash potato.  I just thought there were just way too much POTATO on this entree. Potato, potato and more potato.

20140401_184409

For the main, we decided on beef (something).  Thinly sliced beef covered in teriyaki sauce and mushrooms.  It came with rice, miso soup, fried garlic chips? (ew) and 4 different kind of sauces.  I wasn’t sure if the sauces were necessary as the beef was covered in so much sauce already (or the sauces was for our croquettes – I honestly don’t remember).

20140401_191606

Overall, I guess the food was pretty nice.  I think I would go back here and actually try their sushi and sukiyaki.  Something more traditional.  Then maybe, I would not consider this place too “modern”.

Restaurant: Bishamon
Websitehttp://bishamonjapanese.com/
Location: 500 Boundary St, Spring Hill QLD 4000

2 Comments Add yours

  1. I was thinking I hadn’t been here but I had. You’re right it is quite contemporary. Good though!

    1. cookiejen says:

      It’s a bit hidden away in Springhill. Not really the area I go out for dinner often.

Leave a Reply

